Costume Collection: Rosie The Riveter

Hey everyone,

With Halloween in our midst, I thought it would be a perfect time to start a new series here on the Legally Brunette Blog: Costume Collection. Whaddya think? I have always struggled to come up with the perfect costume, mind you, in time for Halloween, that I’d just give up, blow through my babysitting money on a mask (from none other than the Tar-jay) with a scent of fresh, manufactured plastic that if anything screams, “Halloween!”. Aaaand about 50 other “necessities” from the $1 and $3 section. Man, do they know how to get money out of your pocket or what?! Well, I thought I’d help out in that department. But first off: confession time. Halloween has never been my favorite holiday. I know, I know! It’s sad but true. I guess the countless number of times when I had to choose between Reese’s and Snickers, knowing full well I’d just have to throw them out when I got home kind of turned me away from Halloween. Now most of you reading (if any!) probably don’t have a severe peanut allergy. There is still an off-chance some of you might, but it’s not that common. To give you some perspective, Halloween for kids with allergies is like having someone knock at your door when you’ve just had a terrible day, and in their hands is a ginormous Edible-Arrangement made entirely of your favorite candy. You can have this edible arrangement, but you can’t eat it. Only your very best friends can, and when someone offers you a piece of your favorite candy that they get to eat all by themselves, you have to politely decline, and watch. Okay… that might have been a little melodramatic, just a tad, but I think you’ve got the idea. But where we can really shine on Halloween is through our costumes! Now, there definitely are going to be a couple thousand Harley Quinn’s out there, so I’ve heard. (Second confession: I haven’t seen Suicide Squad! Should I?) And probably a few million Elsa’s. But with Hillary Clinton’s campaign skyrocketing, and women that much closer to gaining equal pay for equal work, I thought, why not continue the girl-power party? So, as stated in the title, I have put together a costume of…. (drum roll, please!) Rosie The Riveter! I hope you enjoy this costume, so, let’s get started


Alright, the first step to achieving the look of Rosie the Riveter, we will be starting with her hairstyle…(Don’t worry, her ever so famous red bandanna will be included!)

img_0089img_0090img_0091img_0093


To start off this hairstyle, you will need to make sure you  have the following  tools:

  • fullsizerender-2 A Red Bandana
  • Bobby Pins
  • Hair Pins
  • Hair Doughnut
  • Pencil
  • Brush
  • Hairspray
  • Smoothing Gel

Approximate Time: 20-25 minutes

TIP: MAKE SURE HAIR IS RELATIVELY CLEAN BEFORE STARTING THIS HAIRSTYLE!


Steps To Achieve This Hairstyle:

  1. Thoroughly brush through hair, so that it is soft to the touch. Part your hair down the center with the tip of a pencil. (Or an actual parting brush!) Set aside one half of your hair for later. 
  2. Take your hair doughnut, and cut it in half. Unravel the doughnut a few times, so it is less bulky in shape, and will be more similar to the size of Rosie’s curls.
  3. Take the top half of your hair, on the side of the hair you’re using, and start to roll it upwards around the 1st half of the doughnut until you get to the top of your head. Once you get to the top of your head, insert bobby pins and hairpins to secure the doughnut and hair into place. Then, wrap the bottom half of your hair around the half-doughnut. (Make sure when you’re wrapping the bottom half, it is as smooth as possible, as this will be what the side of the hairstyle looks like.)
  4. Pin any extra strands of hair, around the front of the half-doughnut to cover it.
  5. Spray all around the head with hairspray. If hair is frizzy, smoothing gel can help when spread throughout head.
  6. Repeat steps 1-5 on other side of the head, and voila! You are finished with the hairstyle of Ms. Rosie the Riveter!

Now, onto makeup!


img_0095img_0096img_0097img_0098img_0099


To start off this look, you will need to make sure you have the following tools:                   (Thanks to my cousin, Julia, for modeling this makeup look!)

img_3866-jpg

  • A Foundation That Matches Your Skin Tone. (I Used Cover Girl’s truBLEND In Creamy Natural L-5)
  • A Setting Powder That Matches Your Skin Tone. (I Used Maybelline’s Fit Me! Powder In Classic Ivory 120)
  • Black Mascara. (I Used Revlon’s Ultimate All-in-One Mascara In Blackest Black)
  • Black Eyeliner (I Used NYX Cosmetics  Eyeliner In Jet Black)
  • Red Lipstick (I Used NYX Cosmetics Soft Lip Cream In 01)
  • Brow Pencil (I used Benefit’s Goof Proof Brow Pencil In 03 Medium) 

Approximate Time: 10-15 minutes



Steps To Achieve This Look:

  1. Start off the look with a clean, freshly washed face. 
  2. Apply foundation all over your face with a beauty blender or sponge. Let sit for 30 seconds.
  3. Set foundation with powder, using a powder brush.
  4. This is an optional step, but fill in brows with brow pencil, and comb out for a more natural look.
  5. Apply lipstick to lips.
  6. Finally, draw on black eyeliner to your upper eyelid, and waterline. And for a finishing touch, swipe on some mascara, and you’re good to go!

img_0103img_0104img_0102img_0105


Last but not least, the outfit!  To achieve this look, you will need to make sure you have the following tools:

  • img_0558  A denim shirt
  • Dark wash denim jeans

Steps To Achieve This Look:

  1. Well, just put on the outfit!

 

 

 


Alright everyone, that is it for the first official entry in the costume collection: Rosie The Riveter! I hope you enjoy this look, and I know it’s two hours before Halloween starts when I’m posting this, but still. I couldn’t leave my Brunette Babe’s without a DIY Halloween costume, now could I? But I hope you all have a very happy Halloween, and please be sure to comment down below telling me what you’re wearing for Halloween this year, any future topics/costumes you’d like me to blog about next. Or, you know, if you just want to say hi, I am a strong supporter of just sticking yourself in random situations. Also, I have never nor  ever will be a fan of scary movies, but last night as I was flipping through channels, I came across the Addam’s Family which I’d highly recommend! From just the clip I saw, it avoids any regular creepy clown, bloody doll, all around predictable Halloween movie-cliches, and tells a scary story of its own. Okay, now seriously. I’m done rambling! Now I’ll let you get back to your hopefully spook-filled night, and I’ll see you next time on the Legally Brunette Blog!

Remember, this is a community of friendship and trust. If you decide to be a part of this journey on The Legally Brunette Blog, you have to be willing to trust, listen, care, grow, and not be afraid to show your silly side!!

Au Revoir!

-The Legally Brunette

Follow me on Pinterest: The Legally Brunette Blog (username: @TheLBblog)

Follow me on Polyvore: @thelegallybrunetteblog.

 

Leave a Reply

