My Chanel Collection

Hey everyone!

Now, you may have seen the collection sprinkled through a few of my previous blog post pictures, solemnly sitting on the sidelines, watching hours and hours of photo shoots take place for all of my other posts, but now it’s their turn.

My Chanel Collection is one my most prized possessions, not because of the brand name, or their signature posh scent. They are for my grandmother. My grandmother, Judith. She raised six children, the first five, born in five years, (Yep. You did the math right. No, none of them were twins.) while actively campaigning for local Democratic candidates, enforcing Title IX, telling off coaches who said her daughters couldn’t play on the baseball team, and strutting down Newbury Street, leaving a thickly scented trail of Chanel No. 5 wherever she went. She was fierce. And sassy. And smart, and witty, and caring, and tough, and- the list goes on. But my  grandmother. The one I idolize. The one in whose memory I keep a shrine of her scent to preserve her memory, is the same grandmother I never got to meet. She died just seven months before I was born, but she knew I was coming. Do you know that question people ask as an icebreaker, when there is a lull in conversation on a first date, or an awkward silence after you realize you’re talking to the completely wrong person? The question that goes something like: If you were to have lunch with someone, dead or alive, who would it be? People usually say famous people, like Eleanor Roosevelt, Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein or Kim Kardashian, even. Without a doubt, I’d say my grandmother. 

My mom told me recently, that when someone dies, as long as you keep their memory alive, they’re never really gone. It seems to me, many people have the concept of death entirely figured out. But, to be honest, I really have no idea how I feel or what I think about death. But I really don’t feel like the ones I have lost, have lost me. The scent of Chanel No. 5, some may say it just a perfume, decorating the trim pages of Vogue, but to me, it is what I have left to love, what I never got a chance to love. Do any of you have a keepsake to remember the loved ones you have lost in your life? If you don’t, I encourage you to find one! I have battled grief for my entire life, until I learned to make peace with it, once my enemy, and now my friend. I let the constant fear of being afraid, control my every word, action, and relationship. Something small to one can be another’s entire world. I took a few pictures of my collection, and hopefully, this may inspire some of you to create your own. Leave a comment below telling me if you have special memories or keepsakes of either the ones you’ve lost, or even the ones still living. Enjoy the rest of your week, and I will be posting very soon! XOXO! (or should I say, COCO!)

lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-025
lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-021lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-027lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-026lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-022lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-023lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-024lauren-chanel-collection-and-tie-dye-028

 

Remember, this is a community of friendship and trust. If you decide to be a part of this journey on The Legally Brunette Blog, you have to be willing to trust, listen, care, grow, and not be afraid to show your silly side!!

Au Revoir!

-The Legally Brunette

Follow me on Pinterest: The Legally Brunette Blog (username: @TheLBblog)

Follow me on Polyvore: @thelegallybrunetteblog.

 

2 thoughts on “My Chanel Collection

Leave a Reply

