5 Ways To Find Happiness!

Hi Everyone!

Thank you all for the WONDERFUL feedback I got on my last post! It made me feel really happy, and closer with you all. Also, new members have joined The Legally Brunette Blog community which I am also very excited about! This week I’ve been filled with happiness, and when other people are happy, it makes me happy! Now that it is spring time, and the weather is getting warmer, people sometimes have a hard time getting over their winter-blahs, which makes the warmth, beauty and fun of spring not as magical. I decided that I wanted to share some of the ways that I look for happiness in my everyday life! Comment down below some of the ways you find happiness, and share it with people you know who might be feeling down, or someone who is missing a little happiness from their lives. I hope you enjoy!

  1. Surround yourself with people who make you feel GREAT!: Let me just say, I am certainly an extrovert, but that doesn’t mean that I make friends with everyone. Sometimes, you come across people in your life who don’t make you feel like you can be 100% you when you’re around them. Or don’t respect your opinions. Or don’t make you feel good about yourself. If you find those people coming into your life, don’t let it happen! Those are the types of people who only hang around you just to bring you down! Sometimes, I find that people who are happy, or confident in themselves are more easily targeted by others. What I mean by that, is that a lot of people aren’t happy in their own skin and have low self esteem. Not all the time, but those people usually have a very hard time when they see other people enjoying their lives and enjoying who they are. I certainly don’t have perfect skin, or a super toned and muscular body, or A+’s in every one of my classes. That’s  just the truth, and I happen to live with that truth every single day, but another truth that I do live by, is that life is too short to hold grudges. Or be jealous. Or not care. Or pretend to be someone I’m not. I love my life, and how it’s unfolding. Surrounding myself with people who make me feel like a beautiful, confident, intelligent, and kind person is something I enjoy doing on a regular basis. Let’s face it, life’s just too short to have negativity around you.
  2. Have an interior and exterior motive! Self motivation is truly key to success, and making progress. They key to self motivation, is liking you for you! Self motivation is pretty easy once you get the hang of it. Just watch! If there is a quality about yourself that you don’t like, (i.e. arrogance, selfishness, greed) self-motivation can change that! If you really want to change the way you act or speak because you know it could hurt someone, a little self motivation goes a LONG way! For example, when you saw Heather announcing to the entire class that she knew she was going to ace her French exam, you also noticed Peter who had family issues going on at home was cramming for the test nearly in tears, while he was sitting next to you. Notice how other people’s actions affect people, and check yourself to see if anything you do affects people in a negative way. Having in an interior motive is really important, but an exterior motive is more commonly found, and might push some of you who don;t have a lot of self motivation to push yourself harder. If you feel you are lacking motivation to finish a project, or the season of basketball your mom signed you up for against your will, a time for finding an exterior motive would be PERFECT! When you receive something, remind yourself that you have a meeting in a week, and your boss will be observing you, and if you don’t use your manners, or control your frustration issues with the ignorant CEO, then you could lose your job! Practice basic things that you learned when you were younger. It might seem silly, but in the long run, it’s really worth it! For example, in this scenario of the ignorant CEO with your boss observing, your exterior motive could be a new phone, or something your saving up for. Money, though it shouldn’t be, is a very common exterior motive, and drives people to put that much more elbow grease into whatever they’re doing. Overall, make sure you’re motivated to do the best you can, and try as hard as you can!
  3. Indulge!: Aah, my favorite word… indulge. Every once and a while treating yourself is the best remedy. We get so wrapped up in the drama of other people’s lives, we forget to give ourselves some TLC! Lots of people get the words “indulge”, and “snobby” mixed up. By giving yourself a spa, or mani-pedi, or tickets to see your favorite singer, or going to a candy store for the day is NOT snobby! When I am doing lots of things at once, trying to please several people all the time, I try and take a step back, and think about if I’m pleasing myself. Indulging is really fun, but you shouldn’t get carried away with it. I suggest once a month, do something small for yourself. I enjoy giving my self an at-home spa! I run a steamy bath with delicious smelling bubbles. I bring out an old foot spa kit including a pumice rock with foot lotion, fake rose petals, some yummy smelling candles, a razor to give my legs a nice clean shave, some body lotion, shampoo and conditioner that also smell REALLY GOOD, and a nice fluffy bath robe for after. I feel so much better, and rejuvenated for the month ahead. As you can tell, I’m not ashamed to hide my obsession of scents:) Whether you get a mini-haul of clothes, go to a new movie with a few of your friends, make your favorite dessert, or go to your favorite vacation spot! Give yourself a break, and enjoy having some alone time with yourself! A good tip for when you give yourself mini-indulgences, leave all electronics behind! Not having to think about whether you got a text from your crush, or people not liking your picture as much as others. Just indulge!
  4. Listen to music!: Listening to music is awesome! I listen to it in the car, the shower, while I’m brushing my teeth, getting dressed, doing my homework, exercising, or even writing my blog posts! Music always inspires me, and there’s always a genre or a song I can find to go in sync with my mood. Not only that, but the artists sing about real things, and they are real people too. They know how to make me feel beautiful, silly, sad, inspired, soulful, chill, or plain out GROOVY! I love dancing, and moving my body along to a rhythm. I am always moving, and music completely affects whatever I’m doing or how I feel about something. Music also helps discuss important topics, end injustice like bullying, body shaming, or inequality. I love music because it’s a way of bringing people together. You don’t have to know anything about the person dancing next to you, but you know they’re there for the same reason you are: to feel a part of something. As much as I enjoy jam out sessions of Beyoncé and Lady Gaga, my favorite song is “Your Song” by Elton John. I always tear up when I hear it. What is your favorite song?
  5. Write!: My favorite pastime, which is pretty much why I’m writing this blog, is writing! I just have so many ideas rush to my brain all at once, I express them by scribbling jagged letters onto paper. A lot of people don’t  like to write, and I get it. It’s not always for everyone, but at some point in your life, it helps you turn your thoughts into ideas, and your ideas into words that can be shared with an audience of people. Every person has struggled with something really big in their lives, and by putting it into words, it’s an indescribable, amazing feeling! My last blog post: Some things aren’t meant to be shared, or are they? That was a post I will always remember, because I took something in my own life that was really difficult for me, and put it into words. I had always wanted to do that, but when I finally got the words out and hit “publish,” I couldn’t believe all the amazing feedback I received, and the kind words you had to share. More often that not, when you let a part of yourself go, people won’t act the way you imagine they will. In 2016, people (most people) are mature enough to accept that everyone has a different story to tell, and each story is like a puzzle piece that locks into place with all the other stories people have to share in our society. Writing is a way to reflect, mature, reason, debate, or let out anger or fear. Enjoy writing! You don’t have to be Harper Lee to be able to write. Just put it in your own words, and write it with a purpose!

All right everyone, thank you for reading this post! Now that I’m on April vacation, I wanted to share my happiness with people, and different things that make me happy! Comment down below telling me what you thought of this post, and most importantly, WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY!!!! I’ll talk to you all very soon in my next blog post!

Remember, this is a community of friendship and trust. If you decide to be apart of this journey on The Legally Brunette Blog, you have to be willing to trust, listen, care, grow, and not be afraid to show your silly side!! 

Au Revoir!

-The Legally Brunette

Follow me on Pinterest: The Legally Brunette Blog (username: @TheLBblog) I pin A TON!!

Follow me on Polyvore: @thelegallybrunetteblog.

2 thoughts on “5 Ways To Find Happiness!

Leave a Reply

