Spring Hairstyle No. 1: “Sporty Spice”

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to Secrets of the Legally Brunette: Hairstyles! (Think of a sports announcer  with a deep voice saying that, it was kinda of the way I thought about it in my head…) In this series I will be sharing with you some of the styling secrets of the LB herself! They are very top secret, honestly, hair like Elle Woods’ can’t look good that easily! Throughout the Spring, I will be sharing with you hairstyles that you can try out. Every time when I watch hair styling videos, they seem to be centered toward more girly-girls, but I want to make sure everyone reading this blog has options for their own personal styles! Today’s hairstyle is called: Double Dutch Duo! Now that spring sports is starting back up again, I remembered that when I was just learning how to skate, it would be really hard to find a hairstyle that would fit under my helmet that would still be comfortable. It can also be hard to find a hairstyle that will stay out of your face! For god sakes! Can’t a girl get through one soccer practice with a cute hairstyle, without mentally singing “Whip My Hair” as her pigtails are whipping her in the face?!?! Let me tell you, I may have accidentally let a few goals slip by while singing that song… Anyway, here are a few pictures I took of my friend when I did this style on her. Below, I will tell you all the materials you will need, and how to achieve this easy spring hairstyle! Enjoy<3

010088cc43e2913e14054bc4f3d9b574a73f97a395

0111ff109be9e7191958859746039d1cb5fd78cb91

Alright everyone, let’s begin! (Whoa, I feel so teachery!)

  1. To start this hairstyle out, completely brush out your hair to ensure it is completely tangle free!I recommend a wide tooth comb. A Wet Brush is perfect! If it helps, detangling spray seriously makes it easier to comb through!
  2.  Now that your hair is tangle free, it might be helpful to dampen it a little bit to make the hair easier to braid with less “Ooooh mama!” and “Gaaaahhh!!”
  3. Section the hair off in the center of the head, making each half relatively even and tie one section off. (I stress, relatively! Has anyone ever, made an even part? Ever?)
  4. Start to French braid the side you left down, until you get to the base of the head. (Make sure it’s a French braid, not Dutch! If it’s dutch, it will most likely hurt your head if you wear a helmet or hat!)
  5. Once you reach the base of the head with your French braid, continue braiding 1 or 2 braids down, just to get a grip on the hair. Secure the braid with an elastic, and undo the extra braids you did to get a grip on the hair. When you finish, you can take a smoothing brush to make the ponytail just a tad more sleek!
  6. Then, repeat steps 3-5 on the other side of your head, and voila! You’re done!

This braid is super fast, and super easy! Also, if you want, you can make the extra hair into buns, or you could continue the braids all the way down to be just regular French braids, I just thought this way might be a way to spice up your regular French braid! Leave a comment below telling me some hairstyles you like to wear in the Spring, if you have any recommendations for future hairstyle posts I should add in my spring collection, or just comment to say hi:) Have a great rest of your week and I will be blogging soon! Also!!! Make sure to follow, like and comment on my friend’s blog who graciously let me style her hair for these pictures! I will leave a link below!

Remember, this is a community of friendship and trust. If you decide to be apart of this journey on The Legally Brunette Blog, you have to be willing to trust, listen, care, grow, and not be afraid to show your silly side!!

Au Revoir!

-The Legally Brunette

Follow me on Pinterest: The Legally Brunette Blog (username: @TheLBblog) I pin A TON!!

Follow me on Polyvore: @thelegallybrunetteblog.

My friend’s blog: https://thepetitepineapple.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Spring Hairstyle No. 1: “Sporty Spice”

Leave a Reply

